Is It Easier to be a Kid or an Adult?

27 Nov

Is it easier to be a kid or an adult?

A question that someone might ask is, is it harder to be an adult or a kid?  There are so many answers because there are so many points of view.  I’m ten years old and my answer is adults.

Zibkids is not nearly as stressful as a normal day job and maybe just because I’m ten, but I find working on Zibkids more stressful and much harder than school.  At school you get cared for; it’s as if you are the client of the teacher.  At work if you’re bad at something you get in trouble, at school you get a tutor.

At Zibkids, I still get to do adult things, but I get lots of help and support.  However, I’m not the only one that needs support, so does my dad.  With my dad I am the adult, I am the leader.

Now if you put that all together you find out that I must lead and, let me tell you, leading can be a pain.  To lead you need drive and energy.  I mean, come on, I thought adults were supposed to lead although I think kids are also great leaders because of all the energy inside of them.  Now when I lead my dad I realize that if I lie in bed watching a show and say “hurry up, I want this done tomorrow,” he wont do it.  But, if I engage with him and work together he will be happy to help.

Every Thursday at school I go to Pre-K and help in Spanish.  It’s amazing how the younger kids look up to me.  I walk in the room and when the door opens they yell Dorian!  They copy what I do.  And that’s an opportunity for leadership.

Now you might not think a 10-year-old can lead a 40-year-old, but adults are amazed at what kids can do, and kids can do a lot.  Kids have very broad imaginations and imagination is the key to leadership.

Now here is my dad’s edited version of this blog post. He says it’s better to just focus on one idea. What do you think?

Can Kids Lead?

A question that someone might ask is, can a kid be a leader?  I’m ten years old and my answer is yes.  I know this because I have to lead in order to make Zibkids move forward.

My dad is really busy. He doesn’t have enough time or energy to focus on Zibkids. But I know that when I make it happen he is happy to help. And we move forward.

I care about Zibkids.com a lot. And I want it to succeed. And I realized I had to lead.

But let me tell you leading is a pain.  To lead you need drive and energy. I mean come on. I thought adults were supposed to lead.

But now I know that kids are also great leaders because of all the energy inside of us.  I have also learned some tricks about leading. For example, when I lead my dad I realize that if I just lie in bed watching a show and say “hurry up I want this done tomorrow” he won’t do it.  But, if I engage with him and we work together he will be happy to help.  Usually I do this by starting do something and then asking him to help me out.

I learned some lessons about leading my dad by leading the kids in the Pre-K Spanish class at my school. Every Thursday at school I go to Pre-K and help in Spanish.  It’s amazing how they look up to me.  I walk in the room and when the door opens they yell, “Dorian!”  They copy what I do.  This helped me see that kids can lead.

Now you might not think a 10-year-old can lead a 40-year-old but adults are amazed at what kids can do, and kids can do a lot.  Kids have very broad imaginations and imagination is one of the keys to leadership.

9 Responses to “Is It Easier to be a Kid or an Adult?”

  1. kristin wiederholt November 28, 2011 at 7:53 pm #

    good job, dorian! i agree that kids are good leaders, and that being an adult is stressful. enjoy being a leader without much stress while you can. keep writing!

  2. judith November 28, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

    I liked your version better, Dorian!! 🙂
    Keep up the good work.
    xo
    judith

  3. Senta November 29, 2011 at 12:39 am #

    ‘Its amazing how, not to be full of myself, they look up to me.’ Not to be full of yourself Dorian? Very funny joke. HAHAHAHAHA! You got some typos there, dude. Lad instead of lead and, in this particular quotation, it’s supposed to be it’s not its. Check out my Saturday blog post, it’s about you! LOL, Senta.

    • barakkassar November 29, 2011 at 4:41 am #

      watch out for those donut holes senta!

    • dorian November 30, 2011 at 3:33 pm #

      i fixed those things so your comment is the one that is incorrect now.

  4. Beatrice November 29, 2011 at 4:44 am #

    It is very interesting subject Dorian – leading seems hard because it takes a lot of learning and experience, the more you learn the better you get in leading and getting others to focus on what you want them to accomplish. Good continuation Dorian!

  5. paula November 30, 2011 at 2:52 am #

    Dorian its me, Paula. Do you remember me? I really liked your writing and completely agree with you. Keep up the good work!!!!

  6. barakkassar December 12, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Actually, I Think It’s Easer To Be A Dog :-) … But Seriously « Zibkids Blog - January 3, 2012

    […] A couple of weeks ago on this blog, Dorian asked whether it’s easier to be a kid or an adult? […]

Leave a Reply

